Stage 1 of EMR’s meaningful criteria

It is always best to do it right when you have decided to do something especially when you are putting money and your valuable effort. The same goes for electronic medical records as well. There are many criteria that you need to consider while implementing the EMR system. Some of these criteria include the safety of the patient’s health information, the quality of care and your ability to share the information with others. There are thousands of dollars of incentives payments that you can be entitled to which dangles on your ability to fulfil the criteria of implementing meaningful use of EMR system. But what is this meaningful use criterion after all?

Stage 1 of EMR’s meaningful criteria

The rules that define the requirements of meaningful use were released in 2011 and 2012 by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid services. As per the rule, the criterion is divided into three distinct stages. Here we will see in brief about stage 1. for more information, visit :


The core requirements of Stage 1 comprises of the basic functions that can make EMRs to help in improved health care. These are mainly the tasks associated in creating a medical record.


  • Entry of basic data of patients like vital signs or demographics
  • Record of any ongoing medication or allergies
  • Use of patient reminders for follow-up care
  • Status of minimum 50% of patients who are at least 13 years regarding smoking habits
  • Using electronic prescription
  • Updated problem list of any active diagnosis

In addition to providing incentives for adopting EHRs to medical practitioners, the federal government has Health Information Technology Regional Extension Centers which are established to assist the primary care providers in getting the EHR implemented in their clinic or hospitals. These centers also help in achieving the meaningful use criteria. IFMC’s regional extension center is one such organization which falls under this category